

Southern Region Program Leadership Committee Meeting August 26, 2021 Minutes

Participants:

- ANR –
- COM Michelle Olgers, Lisa Stearns
- CRD Iris Cole Crosby, Dan Kahl
- FCS Mike Gutter, Jacque White
- 4-H Youth Development— Manola Erby, Travella Free
- IT Steve Garner, Brian McGhee, Brian Watson
- MM Gerald Jones Jim Stewart
- PSD Renysha Harris, Cheryl Newberry, Meredith Weinstein

Bob Scott, Janette Wheat

Committee Officers

AEA: Albert Essel, Rosalind Dale, Vonda Richardson

ASRED: Ron Brown, Gina Eubanks, Laura Stephenson

SRDC/MSU: Carmen Kelly, Russ Garner, Laura Narmour, Rachel Welborn

1. Welcome/PLC Call Schedule/Winter Planning Meeting

There were no additional agenda items added. Gerald Jones made the motion to approve the August 23, 2021 minutes as presented, Manola Irby seconded, and the motion passed.

Lisa welcomed the new members to PLC, and each one introduced themselves. Lisa went over the expectation of PLC members for the benefit of all.

The proposed call times for future meetings of the PLC were discussed. It was decided to move up the October 21st meeting to October 28th, due to the Sunbelt Ag Expo occurring the week of the 21st. One decision that needs to be made today is the scheduling of the Mid-winter Planning meeting, usually scheduled in November and held face-to-face in Atlanta. After discussion, it was decided to make the decision to send out a Doodle poll to determine the best dates for everyone. Dates offered were in November and early December. *Addendum: It was later decided via email to hold the Mid-winter planning meeting virtually on January 10 and 11, and hour and a half each day, with a reserve day if needed.

2. Action and Accomplishment Item Preview

The Action and Accomplishment Items submitted by the committees were reviewed by the group, for feedback and to make any required changes.

One Action Item-FCS Committee, minor changes made-\$5k suggested to come from registration, endorsement to come from AEA/ASRED with knowledge that travel and expenses to the retreat would be incurred, suggestion to involve National ECOP Action Team on Health/Health Innovation Task Force (Roger Rennecamp)



Another Action from the Communications Committee was removed-it is a request to be submitted to AEA solely.

The other Accomplishments from the committees were reviewed with minor changes. Dr. Brown suggested there be two categories of Action Items-one category that needs Director/Administrative approval, and another category of key action plans for the coming year that do not need Director/Administrative approval but will be helpful to give Directors and Administrators a better picture of the upcoming year's work of the committee.

It was further suggested that in the interest of presentation time to the combined AEA/ASRED body, that the top 3 accomplishments for each committee be listed on the **Accomplishments** slides, and the top 3 items that each committee plans for the coming year be listed on the **Information Item** slides (The Administrators and Directors would still have available the previous year's completed Plan of Work, as well as next year's Plan of Work for each committee). The slides in which input from AEA/ASRED is required will be named as **Decision Items** (formerly known as **Action Items**). The items that will fall under Decision Items will be, for example, fiscal items, multi-committee efforts, etc.

The Actions and Accomplishments for this year from the committees are available on each committees' page on the SR-PLN website.

3. Officers for 2021-22

Lisa reviewed the new positions that officers were undertaking for the upcoming year: PLC Past Chair/Chair of Executive Committee: Lisa Stearns PLC Chair/Vice-Chair of Executive Committee: Brian McGhee

There are several officer positions that will need to be filled. To fill the position of PLC Vice-Chair, Dan Kahl self-nominated, agreed to serve. There were no other nominations. Mike Gutter made the motion, and Michelle Olgers seconded. The motion passed.

An ANR/CRD/FCS/4H Representative to Executive Committee was also needed. Jacquelyn White agreed to serve. Vonda Richardson made the motion, with Mike Gutter seconding. The motion passed.

For the 1890 Advisor-Ms. Vonda Richardson stated that Dr. Allen Malone of Alabama A&M University is scheduled to take this position, but that she would confirm later today. His term will expire on the Executive Committee in 2023.

For the 1862 Appointee, Dr. Brown reported that Dr. Tom Dobbins of Clemson University had been elected to take Dr. Gina Eubanks' position. His term would expire on the Executive Committee in 2023.

A suggestion that Dr. Brown had was the consideration of the Executive Committee serve as a nominating committee for the Chair. This topic to be added to the Mid-winter Planning meeting in January. The committee could talk to the people who qualify well ahead of time and have those positions lined up.

4. Executive Committee Items

No items on the agenda.

5. Other Business



There was no other business.

Meeting was adjourned